30 Before 30 – UPDATE!

Alright friends – since I am just one short year away from the BIG 3-0, I figured I should give a progress report on my 30 before 30 List…  I am amending it a big, because I can.  I also want to say a quick thanks for journeying with me.  My guess is that if you are reading this, your life has somehow impacted me in one way or another–and likely in many more ways than you will ever know.

Here she is, in all her glory:

  1. CHECK! Begin working on my Masters of Arts in Counseling Psychology – and hopefully reach the half way point in the program by the time I actually turn 30  
  2. Lead worship – in any context and for any number is fine – just in some slightly formal setting
  3. Go on an overnight hiking/camping trip
  4. Play my guitar better (this should definitely occur PRIOR to the completion of #2)
  5. Complete the first draft of a book that I’d like to write (not publish, just write…) Hmmmm, not sure if this one will come together, because of school and work and lack of time.  Therefore, I am changing it to:  write the outline, a synopsis, chapter titles, intro, or one chapter of the book.
  6. Color Run – check it out.
  7. Get healthy – meaning exercise regularly (somewhere in the realm of 2-3 times per week would be nice), eat better, sleep more, etc…  Yup.  This one happened for a tiny bit of time.  Then it stopped.  Ugh.
  8. Get out of debt – I still have college loans…although this may not be possible if I am successful in completing #1 — THIS one is now officially not doable because of Grad School, unless I win the lottery… but I can amend it and say: get out of non-school based debt! (aka pay off my car loan).
  9. Write more letters – maybe I should add an amount to this – let’s say, 100 letters in the next 2 years – that’s doable, right?
  10. Ride a mechanical bull
  11. CHECK! Hike to Fossil Rock – I haven’t done this for 12 yearsI hiked there TWICE last year!
  12. Learn to make latte art Happens on accident occasionally, but that doesn’t count.
  13. CHECK! Chop off my hair and give it to Locks of Love (along with the two other chunks that were chopped off in the past that I failed to mail in – sad but true) BAM!  I did this one!  Though it did involve searching through a dumpster for the envelope of my hair that accidentally got thrown away… but I found it and was able to check this bad boy off the list!
  14. CHECK! Sit down with my grandparents and hear their life stories
  15. CHECK! Ride some form of public transportation all by myself
  16. Read through the entire Bible, again.
  17. Spend a day alone in a city with nothing but my Bible, journal, camera and I guess a water bottle or some food or something – but you get the idea
  18. Clear out my closet (and perhaps my whole house) of things that I don’t use/need
  19. Climb to the top of the 50′ side of the Climbing Tower at camp – this kind of scares me, but I really want to do it at least once
  20. Go on a date – yeah, I’ve never done that before…like the kind where you BOTH know it is a date and not just friends going out to grab a bite to eat together.  There’s a difference.  Sorry mom.  Some day…
  21. Learn how to listen and not interrupt people Progress has certainly been made.
  22. Travel to a place i’ve never been before-ideally Europe, but I’m not holding out for that one…could end up being somewhere as exciting as Utah
  23. Pick up a hitchhiker (almost did this one yesterday, but got too scared. Ugh.)
  24. Get another tattoo
  25. CHECK! Be a part of a life-changing moment in someone else’s life It was brought to my attention after posting this that I probably already HAVE been a part of a life-changing moment for a few people, and I think I can identify a few times this year that I have as well, so mission accomplished.
  26. Take an official Adobe Creative Suite class – or at least, a Photoshop class
  27. CHECK! Buy (and wear) heels Well, that is, if wearing them around the house counts…
  28. Sing karaoke
  29. Read 10 of the 100 Best Novels I think I may need to amend this one, with school and work, I don’t see this happening… SO, I am changing it to:  read TWO of the 100 Best Novels… 
  30. Continue to grow in my relationship with God, know Him more, know myself more because it… I think I have accomplished this in some ways, BUT, I want to keep working on it, so it’s not checked off yet!

Cheers.

Leave a comment